go to PeakAudax Home Page
CTC: the national cyclists AUK: the UK
updated: 12/04/2024 - 20:02 : no cookies!
   Calendar Events   
   Permanent Events   
   Peak Audax results   
   Individual results   
   Wigley Perms   
   Marple Perms   
   Audax UK Perms   


One of two 300s to enable you to complete a Wigley Super Randonneur Perm Series, the other being the Plains 300 . This route has been amended slightly and now visits Shawbirch instead of Wem, as otherwise the two rides shared some common roads between Montgomery and Wem. The start location has also been moved to Poynton, where there is more suitable parking for a long Perm.

eBrevet This Perm can be ridden with the eBrevet.

The ride heads west over undulating Cheshire roads to Helsby. From Helsby the route turns southbound through Waverton, then diverts from the Eccleshall route to take in Saighton and Holt. You will ride past Bangor on Dee race course, so it might be worth while checking their race dates as I recommend avoiding those.
One of Shropshire
One of Shropshire's blue remembered hills

At Gobowen you could just call in at the Co-op near the Railway station for a snack, but Betty's Cafe, just before Whittington at Derwyn College and Hospital, is recommended as a stop.

After Gobowen, there are some delightful Shropshire lanes as you skirt the spectacular scenery around Criggion to reach Montgomery. You could even call in at the Knockin Shop.

After a cafe stop at Montgomery, the new route heads towards Minsterley and Pontesbury to find a 24 hour garage at Shawbirch, before passing through Newport to reach Eccleshall.

From Eccleshall, the final north-bound leg goes through Haslington, Sandbach and Holmes Chapel to finish at Poynton.
 ½  Elementary 50
 1  Budworths 100
Safari 150
 2  Chirk 200
 2  Llanfair 200
 3  Monty 300
 3  Plains 300
 4  Llanfair 400
 6  Kirtons 600
If you like this ride, you may wish to try another of the Perms from Poynton.

Perms are also available with starts from Dean Row , Stalybridge and Uppermill .
14 2023: 3
13 2022: 11
12 2021: 4
11 2020: 2
10 2019: 3
 9  2018: 8
 8  2017: 14
 7  2016: 14
 6  2015: 4
 5  2014: 11
 4  2013: 11
 3  2012: 4
 2  2011: 12
 1  2010: 4